Manly Gifts, volume III

It’s gift time again, so let’s start with the dream present:

Yes, that is a 1971 fully restored Ford Mustang Mach 1.  You don’t want to buy that, unless you just happen to have a giant wad of cash and nothing to do with it.  That finished product does, however, represent the idea of restoring an old car.  Very few things are as macho as working on cars, and rebuilding an old muscle car is tops in that category, so buy your man an old junker and tell him you can’t wait to take a ride in it.  Not only will he be grateful for years, but his new project will provide you with easy gift ideas for years.  The price tag on this one is open ended, but it’s a really fantastic present.

Next we have a semi-joke gift, the beer cooler scooter:

OK, blowing something around $400 may be a bit much for some people to spend on a funny, yet manly, joke, but if you tailgate or have backyard cookout parties, he’ll get a lot of fun out of this.

If you’re looking for something more practical, keep in mind that every man needs a workbench, and this one is very nice:

While I haven’t seen this particular model in person, it’s got all of the features a good workbench needs, to vices, peg holes for use in holding parts in place, storage space, and a good solid construction.  Heck, it’s even pretty.

 

Another manly activity is grilling, so a charcoal grill makes an excellent present.  While you’ll find lots of gas grills, they’re very wimpy as they light at the push of a button.  A man wants to build a fire.  This is the model I have:

It’s a Char Grill that costs around $100.  It’s solidly built, has plenty of grill surface to cook for a modest party, and the side and front shelfs are mighty handy.  Of course, if you are into BBQ, then you absolutely must get this attachment:

which is a smoker box that bolts onto the side of the grill.  If you burn your charcoal and wood chips in this addition, the hot smoke is drawn into the main body of the grill and provides a low temperature, and flavor imparting, cooking environment.  At $50 it’s a steal.

One facet of being manly is being prepared.  As I recall from my days as a desk jockey, it’s often frowned upon by management to carry tools on your belt as they cause unsightly bulges under your suit.  So, if your man is stuck in that situation, you might want to pick him up one of these:

Don’t be fooled by the picture, this useful item is small enough to be a key chain ornament while including a knife, bottle opener, and LED light.  Buck makes some great knives, and I would expect anything else with their name on it to be well made.  It’s less than $30, and a great way to say you care.

Along the same line is this nifty item:

Simply speaking, it’s a basic Swiss Army Knife mutated into a credit card.  Since it’s almost as thin as said plastic card, it fits nicely into a wallet so it’s always available, and at $30, the convenience of having some of the included tools at the right moment is well worth it.

Finally, if you want to encourage your man to do a bit of yard work:

give him a machete.  The one pictured is an up scale version, around $50, featuring some really high quality steel, but you can pick up a lesser product at any hardware store for under $20 that will be suitable for most jobs.  Once he’s out there hacking at the shrubs, it shouldn’t be all that hard to get him interested in cutting the grass, pruning the trees and such.

Mister Manly

12 Responses to Manly Gifts, volume III

  1. Girly says:

    I want that Mustang! And the beer cooler scooter! Oh and I can think of a lot of uses for that workbench!

  2. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,
    With only the best of intentions, I would suggest that you have your doctor check your testosterone levels 🙂 Seriously, you demonstrate great good taste. I, briefly, had one of those Mustangs in my youth, and can testify that, while it doesn’t handle curves as well as some of its contemporaries, when you push the peddle down on a nice stretch of straight road, it’ll take your breath away. The beer cooler scooter is on my personal list of desired presents. And, while I already have a suitable workbench, swapping for the one I pictured wouldn’t take much persuading.

    While we’re on the subject of gifts, I must admit that, if someone with a girly point of view, wanted to write a few posts on girly gifts, I would certainly read them, as choosing presents for my wife becomes more challenging every year.

    Mister Manly

  3. Girly says:

    Oh! Oh! Great idea! I am going to do just that! I needed some fresh ideas… thank you Mister Manly Man! (see, I still have a LOT of estrogen!)

  4. Girly says:

    I sound like a hyper poodle in that last comment… LOL! I do like that idea and got a little excited… and I am going to get right on it…. 🙂

  5. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    I’m terribly glad to be of assistance.

    Mister Manly

  6. MJ says:

    Great gift ideas! My boyfriend already has most of these though, including a car to work on. 😦 If I really had the money, I’d want to get him one of those Panasonic Toughbook laptops. Nothing says “manly” like a latop that can get the sh*t beat out of it and be doused in water, but still keep on working…

  7. mistermanly says:

    Hi MJ,

    That does sound like a manly computer. I’ll have to check them out.

    As to gifts for your boyfriend, allow me to point out that, while having a cars to fix up is manly, having 2 under restoration is very manly 🙂 Beyond that, there are so many manly items out there that I expect to do another post this weekend.

    Mister Manly

  8. Girly says:

    I am working on Girly Gifts… it’s much more difficult than I thought it would be..I have a newfound respect for you!! Should have the first edition by the beginning of next week.

  9. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    I can hardly wait. Just in time too. I only have two months until my wife’s birthday.

    Mister Manly

  10. Girly says:

    In that case… I will do my very best for you sir. 🙂

  11. dolf says:

    I am very glad to see that somebody pointed out that having two cars under restoration is very manly. May I add that having anything ex-military in the driveway under restoration (or the front street if the neighbours don’t call bylaw enforcement) is the way to go.

  12. mistermanly says:

    Hi dolf,

    Excellent point. I would add that antique tractor restoration is also highly manly.

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

