What?!?

While I rarely admit it, I am confused.  I just stumble across this:

Sissy New Age Cowboy

and have yet to make a decision on the manliness of punk – country western fusion music.  Just this once, I find myself open to discussion on a subject.

Mister Manly

16 Responses to What?!?

  1. Girly says:

    Erm… I’m not sure what I think… will have to get back to you. Interesting.

  2. Virgil Hart says:

    My views = This is girl music.

    Too much talk of ass-kicking but no real ass-kicking. Gone are the days of Johnny Cash, punching emus in the head.

    Real country music is written by men with no souls, thats why most of it sucks, because they’re dead on the inside, they can no longer convey emotion, let alone convey it through the medium of music, these chaps have too much life in them in my view… I know this isn’t really country, but still, anything with country in it, should follow the same principle.

    My personal criteria for a song being manly is the mentioning of at least 5 of these things:

    1. Whiskey
    2. Bourbon.
    3. Somebody dying.
    4. Drinking alone.
    5. Bar fights.
    6. Killing a man in Reno, just to watch him die.
    7. Kicking a dog in a drunken stupour.
    8. Woman abuse.
    9. More woman abuse.
    10. Your wife leaving you.

  3. Virgil Hart says:

    Don’t get me wrong though, I do quite like the song, strangely. It’s grown on me rather.

  4. livininsanity says:

    That link takes forever to load – not manly.

  5. Pure Evyl says:

    For what it is worth, that tune kicks some serious fucking ass.

  6. MJ says:

    Um. No. Just no. “Cowboy” or not, I still like my men manly, rugged, and non-manorexic.
    I don’t want a guy whose ass I could kick. I want a guy who would kick the crap out of a guy who may or may not have touched my butt. I agree with Virgil Hart – except that 8. and 9. on his list are the most unmanly things on the face of the planet.

  7. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    No hurry.

    Hi Virgil,

    You left out having your truck break down and loosing / quiting your job. As to the song in question, its strange attraction was why I made this post.

    Hi l,

    Sorry. YouTube has its good days and bad.

    Hi Evyl,

    It’ll be interesting to see if they can keep up the intensity in future songs.

    Hi MJ,

    You are correct about #8&9.

    Mister Manly

  8. Sarah says:

    couldnt load the video, but the title of it doesnt really make me want to work so hard at it..

  9. mistermanly says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Here’s another link, http://www.rhapsody.com/brentamaker/videos/sissynewagecowboy

    Unfortunately, it has a short commercial at the beginning.

    Good luck,
    Mister Manly

  10. Girly says:

    After listening to it again… I have to say, it grows on ya! I even saved it to my favorites 🙂

    Reminds me a little of Rockabilly meets Punk.. two of my favorite genres… ok, there’s my 2 cents….for what it’s worth.

  11. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    I begin to suspect the song has a subliminal message that make the listener want to play it again. Speaking of which, is there a way to play an MP3 file backward?

    Mister Manly

  12. Girly says:

    I think you may be right about the subliminal message… I seem to be drawn to this song and video…

    I am not aware a way to play MP3 files backward… but, wouldn’t that be interesting?

    Maybe someone will come along who knows of a way to do this…

  13. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    It’s amazing what can be found on the Net. Check out the ?!?tahW post.

    Mister Manly

  14. Virgil Hart says:

    “I agree with Virgil Hart – except that 8. and 9. on his list are the most unmanly things on the face of the planet.” – What could be more manly than subjegating women? Abusing woman kind is only the trait of a panzy boy, when said man who’s doing the abuse abuses solely women.

    It is however very manly indeed to gaslight women provided you also abuse men and are a regular participant in that great Irish sport, the pub fight.

  15. Virgil Hart says:

    Also, I just wanked to that song, I like it more and more each time. His voice sounds like he smokes 500 cowboy killers a day.

  16. mistermanly says:

    Hi VH,

    Sorry, but I must point out that abusing women, or men for that matter, is not manly. On the other hand, having women ask you to abuse them is manly. As to the song, which I am thinking of making the official Mister Manly theme song, check out the reversed version I posted. Oh, and that group has one other video listed on YouTube that you might want to watch. Their name is Brent Amaker and the Rodeo, which I was negligent in not mentioning before.

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

