I’ve got a new blog

I’ve got a new blog,
one that might make you sick.
Still it doesn’t cost too much,
or post too quick.

All we do is heckle the news,
that’s the trick.
We just like to mock the press,
and give them a kick (in the balls or that general region of their anatomy.)

 Yes, in our copious free time, a friend of mine, Lexinator, and I have been experimenting with a new blog concept inspired by Mystery Science Theater 3000, where we allow the voices in our heads to spout all the stuff we normally repress in response to published news stories.  I’m not sure if anyone will like it, but it’s certainly fun to write.  Oh, and it’s not intended for those with delicate sensibilities.  Actually, I have no clue as to the target audience we are striving to reach, if any.  Feed back is most welcome.

 The News Pays Its Dues

Mister Manly

14 Responses to I’ve got a new blog

  1. mistermanly says:

    Hi Girly,

    That’s a start 😉

    Mister Manly

  2. Patrick says:

    Wow, how do you do it? I’ve having problems just treading water posting at a blog, inhaling, exhaling, and here you are swimming around and immersing in all the news.

    And your manly gifts…how many volumes is that? It’s amazing what you can do with a theme.

    With regards to the news…two elections are coming up. The one in America, of course, and did you know we have one coming up in Canada? Well, of course, I, and everyone else in the world is watching all the interesting characters in America make speeches, debate, and persuade. Even Canadians tend to be paying more attention to your election than our own.

    So, if you have time on your news site, or here, can you let me know when you make a possible post on how you view the Canadian elections? This is like our third one since Bush got reelected, if I’m counting correctly, so many have already said we suffer from burnout, hence the apathy.

    If you were to watch our news, watch our leaders, how would you make fun of it and react via the gut?

    -patrick

  3. MJ says:

    Awesome! I’m there!

    I had a thought – Are politics manly? Right now I’m thinking Palin is the most manly thing on the news right now, so I was wondering if maybe politics was the equivalent of grown men turning into three-yr-old girls.

    Just a thought. I’ll keep your new blog in my reader for now.

  4. mistermanly says:

    Hi Patrick,

    Just trying not to get into a rut and testing the limits of my creativity. I’ve done 10 posts on manly gifts because they’re fun to research and seem to be popular. Besides, I like spending hours looking up cool stuff on the Net and calling it work 😉

    Americans don’t, for the most part, follow Canadian politics. Your system, like England’s, where the elections come at irregular times puts us off. We like consistency in these things; something to look forward to; something we can count on; like the Super Bowl. Also, your candidates insist on speaking French, which we find most annoying. All of which might well make a good post. I’ll put it on my list, which has gotten a bit out of hand what with all the great news stories in the past few days. Thanks for the idea.

    Hi MJ,

    Politics is not manly, at least as practiced in the US at this time. Too much pandering and play acting. Now, back a hundred years or more, it was quite manly to be a politician, what with fist fights on the floor of the House and pistol duels on the lawn outside. Good times, good times.

    Mister Manly

  5. MJ says:

    Thanks for clearing that up for me 🙂

  6. mistermanly says:

    Hi MJ,

    Always glad to help.

    Mister Manly

  7. […] Manly, in comments at his blog, gave some initial reaction to why Americans do not take much interest in Canadian style of […]

  8. Patrick says:

    Mr Manly,
    Just a further link to add for interesting reading. You mentioned why many Americans would not prefer the Canadian system. There was article in Globe and Mail yesterday giving some reasons why some Canadians actually prefer your system and find it more democratic.

    Here’s the link:

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20080909.wcoibbi10/BNStory/specialComment/home

    -Patrick

  9. mistermanly says:

    Hi Patrick,

    Thanks for the link, even though the writer is wrong in some respects. For instance, Obama, even though he didn’t win the majority vote in the Democrat primary, is their candidate, making things far from democratic. On the other hand, I do think our system is slightly better than yours, although I do envy your variety of political parties. Being stuck with just two, for all practical purposes, sucks. Of course, the original intent of our system was not to have political parties, but it seems like there is some natural law which demands that they exist.

    Mister Manly

  10. Patrick says:

    Hello Mr Manly,

    Don’t want to put too many links here in your comment section, and for some reason the ping back did not work for my latest post. Basically I referenced another article on the topic of particular parties wanting to exclude another party from the debate table.

    You mentioned you kind of envy our variety of political parties. Hehehe….well, some of the major parties wish they were the only 2 players, just like what you have in your system.

    Anyways, this is good learning. It’s good to bounce stuff off you, as I usually read Canadian papers and you can correct the incorrect assumptions that writers here make.

    Hope you can visit my blog to see the latest political post titled “Debating about Debates.” There, I ask a few more questions about American system that I hope you can help me out with and provided another link to an article for further reading.

    Thanks again for your time and thought stimulation.
    -patrick

  11. mistermanly says:

    Hi Patrick,

    I’ll be by when I get a moment.

    Mister Manly

  12. Patrick says:

    Mr Manly,
    First off…I couldn’t remember if you are from Houston…or Texas or that area.
    Are things okay after the hurricane?

    Sorry for delay, but I made a few more comments in response to your comments at my blog…under debates about debates…and elections are coming….
    Whenever you have time…I wouldn’t mind if you continue the discussion as I asked a few more questions that bothered me…..

    Also, at your new blog, whenever you hit on a topic close to what we’ve been discussing…feel free to link at my blog to notify me and get me over there….
    Guess I should also add that blog to my feeds, right? Sorry….I’m battling time these days, hehehee……

    -patrick

  13. mistermanly says:

    Hi Patrick,

    I live near Memphis, Tn, and all we got out of Ike was some minor wind and a bit of rain. We got 15 young evacuees from Gustav, which was more expensive but also more fun. Don’t give a second thought to not being able to keep up with where people on the Net live. Heck, some people I converse with live in places that I didn’t know were places. And then, they move! It’s all very confusing, but I do appreciate your concern.

    As to your blog, I had intended to check that yesterday, but sometimes things don’t go as planned 🙂 I’m looking forward to continuing the discussion, and will do so as soon as possible.

    On links, I agree, there’s never enough time to keep up with them.

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

