Manly gifts for these unsettled times.

While it’s not manly to talk politics outside of an environment that doesn’t allow physical contact between those involved in the conversation, it’s also not manly to ignore how things are going in the country in general.  With that in mind, and not casting blame in any particular direction, it’s interesting to note that we are in unsettled political and financial times, and that this presents an opportunity to pick up some of those manly gifts your man wants at really good prices.  Thus, the items I’m listing today won’t have a price or source of purchase, but will be things you  should keep an eye open for a good deal on.

What man wouldn’t want to be part owner of an automobile manufacturer?

mg1101

And let’s face it, regardless of their fiscal soundness, General Motors has been the leader in making manly transportation for years.  Besides, even though the value of their shares has dropped enough that picking up a certificate for a hundred and having it framed for display on the garage wall is now in the stocking stuffer range, since the Government seems hell bent on propping the company up, it might even be a good investment.

On the other hand, what with high gas prices and economic woes, some of the more manly vehicles are not selling as well as usual, and good deals may be had on both new and used ones.

mg1102mg1103

So, while in normal times a Hummer or a sweet sports car might have been out of your price range, it couldn’t hurt to look around and see if something this manly can find its way into your drive way for Christmas.

Another industry that’s seeing hard times is home construction.

mg1104

And that should mean some excellent deals on the manly tools of that trade.  I’m thinking that the prices on used power tools, like nail guns, are so low that you’ll need an extra large tree to put them under.  Make sure you buy name brands that aren’t visibly beat up, and there should be some great man pleasing values around.

Guns.

mg1105

OK, you’re probably not going to get a deal on these.  Still, considering the new Government’s view on private firearm ownership, this might be the last chance you have to put something like this AR-15 in your man’s hands.  Trust me, he’ll be most grateful for it.  Oh, and don’t forget the extras – ammunition, large capacity magazines, and such.

What with large car engines being out of favor, some are finding creative ways to use the unwanted parts.

mg1106

While any man would drool over a V-8 grill, there are probably many more unique creations out there that would also be manly fun.  It couldn’t hurt to look.

It has also come to my attention that, due to the general fear for the economy, air travel rates are down, and the air lines are begging for customers.  This comes at a perfect time, because it should be quite reasonable to hand your man round trip tickets to California, so he can get in on the Prop 8 protests.

mg1107mg1108

While I have no general view on the manliness of gay marriage, I do think that, at times, a man needs a good fight, and I’m thinking that if your man can’t find a good reason to pound on either of these groups, then you’re probably reading the wrong blog.

Let us not forget the manliness of building stuff.

 

mg1109

That is a cargo container.  It’s a big steel box about the size of the trailers semi-trucks haul around.  They’re used in great quantity to ship things around the world on ships, trains, and trucks.  Fortunately, in a way, since we in the United States import more goods than we ship out, they tend to pile up over here.  This makes them right cheap.  They have all sorts of other uses, from extra storage to forming the basis for construction of an underground bunker.  My friend at http://renaissanceronin.wordpress.com/, is using them to build a house.  Still, whatever purpose that are put to, they are technically buildings once on the ground, so if you put two in the back yard, your home turns into a compound, and that is manly.

This last one is off theme, but after I found out the price I was compelled to include it.  It’s a motion sensitive automatic camera.

mg1110

It’s sometimes known as a game camera because biologists use them to monitor wildlife movement along game trails, and it is really manly cool.  The concept is that you strap it to a tree in a spot where you want to know what’s happening when you’re not there, come back later, and it has a picture of everything that moved in front of it, even in the dark.  I haven’t mentioned them before because I figured they would be far too expensive, but it turns out they can be obtained for around $100!  I would point out that, while I want some to keep an eye on what the critters are doing on my farm while I’m not looking, they have a large number of uses even in urban areas.  Are your children sneaking out at night?  Who’s raiding the refrigerator while you’re asleep?  Who swipes your newspaper most mornings before you get down to fetch it?  Who’s tossing trash in your yard as they drive by?  Now you can find out.  I’m putting this on my Christmas wish list, and if I get one I’ll post some of the resulting photos.

Mister Manly

4 Responses to Manly gifts for these unsettled times.

  1. Ya know, MM…

    “Oracle or Orifice,” you’re once again, right on the money! (Dammit!) LOL!

    That Hummer Wagon I ponied up over a hundred grand for, back in the 90’s, is now available for less than $30,000. Makes me wanna set up another distillery (bio-fuel this time) in one of the “extra” shipping containers, so I can snort and rumble thru traffic filled with gawkers, again. Gawd, I miss that truck! (And parking on top of imports was cool, too!)

    And you can never go wrong stockpiling guns and ammo. In fact, in some banana republics I’ve been known to frequent, they’re the local “universal currency.”

    Now, I gotta get back to my welder… In these troubled times of late, I’m thinking about stacking all my shipping containers up in a circle (like the Conestoga Wagons of old) and build me a right proper fort, to keep all the riff-raff out… (Present company excluded, of course…) LOL!

    If you have one of those Motion Sensing Cams to spare, I could use it to document trespassing targets, before I introduce them to the Gawd of their choice! Hooyah!

    Good one!

    Ronin

  2. mistermanly says:

    Hi Ronin,

    A shipping container fort sounds most manly. Don’t forget the gun ports, and a bit of razor wire around the outer edge wouldn’t be a bad idea.

    Game cameras aren’t the best choice for your purposes. They don’t cover much ground. Go with a video surveillance system. That wouldn’t be much more expensive, and you wouldn’t have to leave the fort to collect the pictures.

    My only complaint about the civilian model of the Hummer is the lack of Kevlar. Leaving that off makes no sense at all to me.

    Mister Manly

  3. Hi MM,

    Can’t spend too much time blogging today. My “Fort UranAsshole” project is taking a lot of time! I figure if I stand one container up at each corner, I have “sniping towers” that are already semi-bulletproof! After that, it’s just stacking containers up like LEGOs between the towers, to form the “walls!”

    I can use all the extra cargo doors, to build some really cool “crashproof” barricade doors (to let/keep/restrain/contain/incarcerate the girls in, and keep the miscreants/husbands/boyfriends/authorities out)!

    Instead of planting roses, I’m planting a hedge of “razor wire” bent and stretched to resemble a big “Ivy Bush on Acid…” I may even paint it green, to “beautify the project!”

    I figure (with the stock market crashing like a lead balloon) that I can buy about a pallet of GM stock, and shred it up to use as insulation!

    I will take your advise, and invest in a good set of video cameras, mounted strategically to let me know where all the “bad guys” are lurking. After all, .50 cal shells are getting pretty expensive, nowadays. Don’t wanna waste any of them…

    And, if I can round up some 1/2″ Lexan for windows, and some carbon fiber and stuff to build some “panels” with, that Hummer is looking more and more affordable all the time! After all, ya gotta leave the Fort to get provisions, like Scotch, from time to time…

    Hey… ya know what? I think I died and became Ted Nugent!

    Gotta go…

    Ronin

  4. mistermanly says:

    Hi Ronin,

    I’d think that six inches of loose sand held against the wall with press board would turn your walls from semi-bulletproof into the real thing. A few land mines would make a fine addition as well. Oh, and a tunnel so you can move between fort and house without being exposed to mortar fire. Sounds like you’ve got a sure fire Town & Country cover in the works.

    I’m sure you can have supplies air dropped.

    I’m not sure the world is ready for a Jewish Ted Nugent.

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

